Learning & Teaching

The Victorian Curriculum F–10 includes capabilities, which are a set of  knowledge and skills that are taught explicitly in and through the learning areas.

The four capabilities in the Victorian Curriculum F–10 are:

  • Critical and Creative Thinking 
  • Ethical
  • Intercultural
  • Personal and Social

Students require explicit support to develop the breadth and depth of their thinking and to take intellectual risks. This attention to thinking helps our students to build self-awareness and their capacities for reflection. Developing critical and creative thinking capability is an essential element of developing successful, confident and innovative members of the community.

The Ethical Capability curriculum explores what it means for both an individual and society to live well. Students examine what we ought to do, how we ought to live, what kind of society we should have and what kind of person one should be.

Intercultural capability enables students to learn to value their own cultures, languages and beliefs, and those of others. Students learn about diverse cultures in ways that recognise commonalities and differences, create connections with others and cultivate mutual respect.

The Personal and Social Capability supports students in becoming creative and confident individuals with a sense of self-worth, self-awareness and personal identity that enables them to manage their emotional, mental, spiritual and physical wellbeing, with a sense of hope and optimism about their lives and the future. On a social level, it helps students to form and maintain healthy relationships and prepares them for their potential life roles as family, community and workforce members.