Learning & Teaching
Learning areas and Capabilities

The Victorian Curriculum F–10 includes both knowledge and skills. These are defined by learning areas and capabilities. This curriculum design assumes that knowledge and skills are transferrable across the curriculum. It is expected that the skills and knowledge defined in the capabilities will be developed, practised, deployed and demonstrated by students in and through their learning across the curriculum.

The design of the Victorian Curriculum F–10 is set out below:

Learning areas:

  • The Arts (Dance, Drama, Media Arts, Music,
  • Visual Arts, Visual Communication Design)
  • English
  • Health and Physical Education
  • The Humanities
  • Civics and Citizenship
  • Economics and Business
  • Geography
  • History
  • Languages
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technologies
  • Design and Technologies
  • Digital Technologies


  • Critical and Creative Thinking
  • Ethical
  • Intercultural
  • Personal and Social